An introduction to Lower Silesia

Lower Silesia Voivodeship is one of the 16 voivodeships (provinces) into which Poland is currently divided. It lies in southwest Poland and corresponds roughly to the region of Lower Silesia (the northwest part of the historical and geographical region of Silesia). Its capital and largest city is Wrocław (640,000 inhabitants), which lies on the Odra (Oder) river.

picture: Lower Silesia

The regional authority of the Lower Silesian Voivodeship, with its elected assembly and its executive, deals with many aspects of regional policy, which are not reserved for the governmental administration (i.e.: public education, healthcare, development strategies, spatial planning and environment protection). The regional authority also manages the European Union funding.

There are some fine examples of good practices in Lower Silesia that can be used and developed in other regions e.g. “Centre for Renewable Energy Sources” in the Vocational Training Centre in Bielawa; “ABS Cluster”, which brings together energy industry businesses, research centres, large energy consumers and local authorities; Lower Silesian Centre for Advanced Technologies; and Centre of the Innovation’s Promotion in the Energy Industry.

The region has experience in geothermal waters and biomass application, as well as in solar and hydro energy. However, energy efficiency needs to be better promoted and equires more support in the region. Lower Silesia expects the project's activities to contribute to the creation of a coherent energy policy within the region.